“Get on up” Movie Review!!!!!

PLEASE, PLEASE,PLEASE, PLEASE!!! If you love good music, then this is your movie. ” Get on up” is a biopic about the legendary James Brown, who is also the most sampled artist which was cleverly slipped in the movie near the beginning.

20140801-083506-30906012.jpg

“Get on up” capture James Brown’s life from his rough childhood to his old age. His songs were legendary and so was the actor who portrayed him. Chadwick Boseman, who plays James Brown did a great job capturing who James was from his walk, to his talks, and his electric performances, along with some fancy footwork.

20140801-084406-31446348.jpg
I like the fact Tate Taylor didn’t make this a linear movie where you start at his birth and end at his death after his career ended. I liked that in between his epic performances and adult life, there were snippets of his childhood sprinkled in so we found out what he where he came from, his parent’s abusive relationship, him living poor in Augusta, GA , and his rough adolescent years, trying to survive life. It always come back to the music, which made me want to get up in the theatre and do the mash potato( I’m 29 by the way).

20140801-085337-32017757.jpg
I didn’t like the first 15-20 minutes of the movie because the first couple of scenes were confusing to me. It seemed like there was a lot going on too soon. I get the going back and forward to his childhood but we went from a random press conference, to him performing a song in the prime of his career, to Mr. Byrd telling us how he met the Godfather of soul. It was like I was in a time machine and I was getting motion sickness.
FINAL THOUGHTS:
Overall I thought the movie was great minus the confusing first 20 minutes of the movie. Even though this is rated PG-13 I recommend it for people over 13 because of the sex and drug factor.
I give this movie:🌟🌟🌟🌟

Tell me what you think when you see the movie!!!
Please leave a comment!

NEXT UP: GUARDIANS OF THE GALAXY!!!

Leave a Reply

